Various Cities and Random Fire

Frustration is starting to set in because I’m going to be 35 in about a month and I haven’t checked all of the little boxes that would make me feel accomplished at this point.

The biggest thing missing from the “you-haven’t-lived-until” list is the fact that I haven’t been to Japan yet. I think about moving to Tokyo every day, but so far, I’m no closer to being there tomorrow as I was yesterday. I keep thinking that I need a more aggressive strategy in order to make it happen, but the truth of the matter is I’m not willing to sacrifice too much of my current lifestyle.  How will I afford velvet Sean John jackets and the finer things?

Let’s face it: to go from a six-figure salary to an entry-level, English-as-a-second-language, teaching job is no easy task. Throw in the fact that I’m a black man that has become accustomed to certain accoutrements and we’re entering the realm of the ridiculous. I’ve always had high expectations for myself and now that I’ve officially made it to black bourgeoisie status, I don’t want to do low class even if it is Japanese.  This is a shame because I read a lot about Japan these days and it all seems pretty fruitless if I’m not willing to take the plunge and abandon my life here in the United States.

I guess, I have become too comfortable in my current surroundings.  Sure, I won’t be able to go back and forth at the drop of hat like I do between Los Angeles, New York City, and Washington DC, but that would be a small price to pay to realize a dream. I still haven’t been to Japan one time, which is really upsetting for me because I have been to so many other countries that I haven’t had half the interest in. I’ve wanted to go to Japan now for something like twenty years and it still hasn’t popped-off! Somehow I feel like I am really close to making it happen, but that it still hasn’t gone down yet.

I can’t help but to think that if ever a black man deserved an easy passage to Japan, it would be me. My next move is to, straight up, start a secure pay site for people to start donating to in order to facilitate me realizing my goal. I would hate to resort to begging on the Internet, but the prospect of me landing a great job in Japan despite not speaking the language has to be pretty slim at this point.

I may have to bite the bullet and start thinking of a way to get hired by one of those companies looking for English teachers… Sad, I know, but true.

2 Responses to “Various Cities and Random Fire”

  1. DanKnuckles Says:

    It appears that I\’m the only one who ever votes or leaves comments on my site, so I vote for me!

  2. Sonya Says:

    I vote for you too, babe. No contest, don\’t ever wonder.

Leave a Reply

