10,000 Views With Enough To Go On…

People write to me in emails and ask me random questions about my blogs. I’m trying to answer them all but it can be overwhelming sometimes. To make matters worse, now that I’m above 10,000 hits most of the emails come from people that I don’t even know. I’m going to try not to be such a total flake. Stick with me.

Last night you may have seen Howard University playing Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University (FAMU) on television if you happened to have ESPNU and a lot of time on your hands. If you didn’t get that opportunity, let save you the trouble: Howard lost 48 – 10. The Rattlers of FAMU were victorious again, and it doesn’t look like the Bison are even going to be competitive this year. I’m also guessing that Howard Homecoming will be a disappointment unless the Bison can get their acts together before the game is played a month from now.

I can’t really focus on the Bison until homecoming. That is the only game that matters in Black College football. High school football on the other hand is much more relevant in my world right now. I’m so heavy in the game. These days I’m not playing my Sony Play Station which definitely means that my interests are all more real world, now. Some years in my memory are just complete blurs because the fantasy world that I have created in the EA Sports classic video game, NCAA College Football is so detailed and so satisfying that I can get lost in a virtual reality with a little imagination.

I actually had to make the conscious decision that I wasn’t going to buy the latest iteration of the game this year because it detracts from my ability to stay abreast of real college football. Don’t get me wrong, I still managed to watch quite a few games even when I was dedicating two hours to gaming almost every day. The difference was that I was watching real college football games on television that I knew nothing about. College football is a game in which you can become familiar with players and teams over time. You have to watch Sports Center on ESPN to begin to get a hold of it. I suggest you start out by watching College Game Day on ESPN on Saturday mornings.

There are so many channels and so many different programs to watch. ESPN really does a good job of keeping me out of trouble. I literally don’t have time for any nonsense because I’m trying to stay caught up on my college football information. It is much easier for me to stay up to date in professional football because I only really follow the New York Football Giants and the fantasy league that I joined. Between all of that football and writing incessantly, there isn’t much room for much else. To make matters worse, I only plan on writing more. There is a lot to write about these days, and like my man said over there at The Atlantic, “journalism has never been more democratic.”

My brand of journalism is heavily infused with all things DeMatha, sports in general, and that general blackness that is most black. I’m not an expert. I’m just a really opinionated person with an outlet. There is nothing to see here.

It’s really hard to believe that I’ve gotten over 10,000 hits on this site.

Leave a Reply

