Duck Season 2009

If you ever wanted to know what it was that I’m thinking about these days the picture above pretty much sums it up. It’s the middle of duck season in Long Island. Right now there are Canadian geese making their way south, and they just love to rest in all of the ponds in Long Island. Some even make their temporary homes in Long Island ponds, until they eventually freeze over. Even if you don’t like goose, you can still take a duck or two. (The limit this year is five ducks per day, according to the state of New York.) Obviously I’m not going to get a chance to get out there this year. I don’t think that I would take a duck, anyway, because as tasty as they are I am not going to eat a whole one by myself.

Don’t get me wrong –I have eaten a whole duck by myself in the past, but I’m not fifteen-years-old anymore. My metabolism has changed, although that isn’t the only reason that I won’t be shooting any of my own food this fall. I think that I’m sitting this year out because I don’t feel like taking all of the necessary steps to hunt. It was much better when I was a kid and I didn’t have to apply for the hunting license. (Or rather when I was kid, and I was stopped for not having a hunting license I just didn’t care because I was in my backyard, anyway.) Have you ever noticed that there is red tape everywhere you look? I hate red tape. Sometimes I want to be handed things without formalities. I know that it never happens like that, but it doesn’t stop me from wishing.

I have a smile on my face because life is good when the only thing that I’m worried about is a hunting license.  Like the mallard in this picture, I might have a few cares in the world but they aren’t pronounced enough to where you can read it on my face or see it in my demeanor.

I guess the moral of this story is that life is good: I’m happy.  I hope that all of you out there are doing as good, or better during this duck season.

Don’t forget to holler at The Bruzz.  I love hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

