The Mighty Clouds of Joy: Heavy Load Live At The Apollo Theatre, Harlem NYC 1972

…As I look around this evening, I see a lot of young people in the audience today.  And, uh, there are many young people who believe that there is no God.  Don’t let nobody fool you: I know there is a God somewhere. The reason I know its a God is one Thursday evening, something got a hold of me.  You know nowadays the church dresses have gotten too modern.  Dear God.  Baptized in the back of the church, but when I found Jesus it wasn’t like that. Oh Lord, we didn’t have the fine robes that they have nowadays.  Let me tell you what they did when they was preparing me to be baptized: They took a old white sheet and made me a robe. They tied and old white rag around my head.  Hmm’hmm. The baptizing place was in the back of the church, they lead me around a little old brown road, they ducked me down in an old muddy creek.  I came up with holy water.  I’ve been BORN AGAIN!!!  I never will forget they were singing a song back then.  Some old man got up in the AMEN corner and began to sing a song. And said these words, “Heavy load, heavy load.  I got rid of my heavy load…”  Say it again! “Heavy load, heavy load.  I got rid of my heavy load…”

Somebody don’t know what we’re talking about when we saying “heavy load?”  We’re talking about the heavy load of sin.  Somewhere this song I might call the day that you got rid of your heavy load.  If I call the day that you got rid of your heavy load I want you to stand up and be a witness.

Leave a Reply

