Heavy Off In The Game

The New York Metropolitans play the Washington Nationals tonight. Again, I keep getting emails from folks around the world asking me if I’m going to provide coverage of certain things. I don’t know if you could call what I do “full coverage,” but I’ll do my best to do what it is that I do. I will probably give updates via Twitter if you’re interested in overseas baseball all that much.

Right now I’m trying to think of who would want to go to a baseball game with me tonight. I don’t know if I want to go alone because I have two tickets. If anybody out there wants to go to the game, I wouldn’t mind giving them a ticket to go. Of course, the ticket would be totally free so all you need to do is contact me and it’s yours. While we’re at it, that goes for tomorrow and the day after that, as well. I pretty much always had an extra ticket or two for all the games because I don’t have a girlfriend.  I’m okay with it though, because I’m saving money.

These are the last Washington Nationals games that will be played in Nationals stadium this year, and I’ve pretty much given up on taking women on baseball dates. Neither the Mets nor the Nats are doing particularly well anyway, although I still plan on going for the sake of seeing baseball. I damn near had a football overdose this weekend and it is one of the last times that I will get to enjoy such a change of pace. By now, you should know that I’m going to the game with the explicit intention to root for the New York Mets.

Washingtonians will have to understand because I am still a son of Long Island. Brooklyn is on Long Island. (It is also the official home of the Notorious B.I.G. –the greatest rapper to ever live.) Queens is on Long Island. I’m not from either of those places, specifically, but I can still claim the larger land mass. New York is a terrifically big place, after all. I’m proud to rock my Mets hat like Nasir Jones, also known as the rapper Nas (pictured above). Just like Jay-Z of Marcy Housing Projects are in Brooklyn –clearly the Long Islanders have a way with words.

Leave a Reply

