Refining the Game

Notre Dame lost to University of Pittsburgh last night on national television and I smiled.  I bet that Jeff Knox was smiling too.  As I previously mentioned, I kind of love it when Notre Dame loses these days.  Charlie Weis, the current Notre Dame Head Coach, is a bit of a fat tool. 

Now I’m wondering if The Cooperators can win today.  The New York Football Giants have a bye week, so I guess I could root for the Jets.  Actually I have work to do so I probably won’t be watching much of anything on television today.  It’s good to be busy, sometimes.  I feel as though some people don’t have their lives optimized.  Folks need to exercise their brains.

With that in mind, I present to you something that will help you to refine the game.  Stop looking at music videos for a second long enough to appreciate some quality art work.  So much about our lives is reducing our intellectual capability.  Everything is said to be “better” just because it may happen to be easier, or faster.  I’m here to tell you that life in the fast lane all the time is no life at all.  My sister is famous for always saying “keep it moving,” but I’m here to put forth that folks need to slow it down sometimes.

Harlem Renaissance artist, Archibald Motley is certainly the type to help you appreciate the art by slowing you down.  I’ve always been a fan of his.  Not just because he had a fascination with the Black Bourgeoisie, but because he had a tendency to use bright colors.  When I think of how simple everything is, I am immediately drawn again into the debutants.  The smiles, the bonnets, the dresses, the shoes, the martini glasses and their lack of jewelry all was a clear indication that these ladies were of the refined sort.  Their black, distinguished butler about to serve chicken reinforces the point, but nothing does it justice like some nigga passed out on the couch. 

It seems that even in 1930, niggas with money like to sit down on couches.  Look a little deeper and you can see that Archibald Motley liked to show you some social implications that you may not have ordinarily picked up.  The first one that jumped out at me when I took the Harlem Renaissance focused course Blacks in the Arts at Howard University was the fact that the paintings on the wall all appear to be of white people.  I’m pretty sure that Motley was trying to say that despite the fact that these well-to-do black folks had clearly come a long way and were removed from the lower rung of society they idolized all things white.

Motley was also a genius for coming pretty close to the real life ratio today of successful black women to successful black men.  5:1.5 seems about right.  (Clearly the black man on the couch is winning in this game, and I’m counting the butler as being half successful for at least securing employment with black people.)  Lord knows that black women all around the country complain that there aren’t enough available, successful, black men.  Presumably, for me, this painting is taking place in the south and my only reason for inferring this is through Archibald Motley’s use of color, the architecture of the window, and the implied heat.  Motley just slowed you down by making you look for it, and he deserves a Profile in Black Genius on this site.  I’ll get to it, I promise…

Happy Sunday ya’ll.

Leave a Reply

