Bringing It On Home

“The way I’m looking at it, I’m picking up where Malcolm X. left off, nigga.” Thugnificent, Rags to Bitches, Hip Hop Dock-Trine 2

And Speaking of Gingers & Obama And Stuff…

I guess the crux of the relationship between these two radically different posts is the fact that I am a raving lunatic. I don’t even know about myself sometimes. I have to just stand back and say, where is my mind going with all this stuff?

Well I went to the Nationals baseball game again, tonight, to clear my head but it didn’t really work. I was out there looking all cold and sad. The Nationals actually played well against the Philadelphia Phillies, too. (I was really impressed with the play of Elijah Dukes.) I didn’t really understand what was exactly under my skin but then it suddenly dawned on me out there in the drizzling mist. Every thing was all red, today.

Both of the baseball uniforms of the Washington Nationals and the Philadelphia Phillies, feature red. Obama’s tie in last night’s speech was red and white. I must have seen more red and white striped ties, like our President’s, today than I have ever seen in my life. There was a man on the metro this morning that had an exact replica. Not only did he get off on my stop, he followed me for two blocks into my building. It could possibly be scary, if he were the only one. I saw the customary three or four POTUS knock-off’s like you do after every presidential speech because this is Washington DC, the nation’s capital, but today was above and beyond.

I didn’t wear red today because I just wasn’t feeling it, but there are a lot of people in Washington DC that were. What I have learned in my thirty-five years is that people are sheep. It is not something that we can possibly account for in our behavior all of the time and it can be impossible to correct for. Consider it a human inconvenience. With that being said, I might not have a clue what I am talking about because it isn’t like I have a PhD or something. They also say that redheads are unique and have a tendency to buck the system.  Maybe that is why I love them?  I think that redheaded women should wear purple or green as much as possible though.  I like what it does for my eyes, but what do I know? I mean, you’re probably a better expert on this stuff than I am, anyway –you being the intelligent blog reader.

That’s why I want to offer my expertise on healthcare. Seriously, after watching the entirety of the President’s speech the only thing that I could really come away with was the fact that Republican Representative Joe Wilson is a serious dick. I mean not an ordinary dick like me, but an extraordinary dick. Let’s just say for the sake of argument that Joe Wilson had a valid point. We’re still debating about healthcare. We have guys dying in Iraq and Afghanistan and you’re going to use your jerk card to yell “you lie” in a healthcare debate. Healthcare? Really? It would be like Malcolm Little going to jail and transforming into an anti-conk, natural hair proponent instead of the flaming haired beneficent nuisance that he turned out to be. 

I understand the importance of healthcare, but you have to understand that you only get one jerk card. Once you play that card, you are forever labeled as uncouth. To play that card on national television took one of two things: either extraordinary stupidity or a huge set of big hairy balls. Okay, maybe Joe Wilson had both because he’s from South Carolina. Carolinians don’t mess around. Let us not forget that they fired on Fort Sumter and started a little thing called the American Civil War. Nothing says “play your jerk card here,” like people actively trying to blow each other to pieces, sorry healthcare.

I say all of that to say this: the Republicans are grasping at straws and damaging the institution that is our government. What is worse is that they have been doing if for years. (Triple worse, I’m a republican.) I think that the old case is former President of the United States, George W. Bush and his insane policy to go to war in the first place. The latest iteration is Michael Steele doing just about anything. Both men had a little bit more than a coincidental knack for failure. Joe Wilson yelling things just seems to have that same smack of timely idiocy. Any hope of a serious debate on the issue at hand was scuttled instantly. Obama is the voice of reason and my fellow republicans will have less influence on the outcome of the healthcare bill.

For me, as well as the rest of the country, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I happen to think that the majority of the rabble rousers are willfully trying to hurt this country. Either that, or they have stakes in another game entirely. I wouldn’t put it past some of them, although I haven’t quiet figured it out yet. What I do know for certain though is that Joe Wilson is probably a racist. Yeah, I took it there. Joe Wilson is too much of a small potatoes type of guy to have the brains to have legitimate familial interests greater than that of the United States.  (Bush family, anyone?)  Instead, Joe Wilson’s reaction to the black, illegitimate daughter of the longest serving Senator from South Carolina, the late Strom Thurmond, let me know that he had deeply seated issues surrounding race. His mind seems a tad small. Are we supposed to believe that he debased our legislative body because he let his “emotions” get the better of him, twice?

I don’t know if I have the time to get into the fact that Strom Thurmond was a notorious, legendary segregationist and modern racist –the hypocrisy remains. I know that we can’t ever forget the fact that in addition to starting the Confederacy of States of America, treasonous rebels, South Carolina has a history consistent with resisting progress regarding race right on through the Civil Rights movement. A lot of that has to do with the fact that white people had been getting rich off of niggers for years there. Agriculture was a driving factor, but I think that there is something to be said for the South Carolina brand of racism. As you may already know, I’ve spent some time down there and I came into some property deep down in the heart of Dixie. Let me tell you that white folks aren’t playing around down there.

Sure, there are a lot of black folks down there, but that still doesn’t mean that white folks is playing around. And if you didn’t catch the grammatical error, that “is” back there, you need to peep it again. That’s old black man wisdom talking to you right there. That’s real talk. I never had a fear of the Ku Klux Klan, but there are only two places in this great nation where I have ever thought of the safety of my own skin and my ability keep both and Mississippi is the other place. South Carolina is still all good with me. Let me know if you ever need any pork, okay? Quietly, I am really serious. Oh, and did you know the official color of the state of South Carolina? It is red, just like the republican party and the hair of the hottest women in that state.

Leave a comment